The Flu Sucks Or: How I Missed The Radiohead Concert

March of 2012 was not a good month…for anyone in my family.  The flu ripped through my family within a two week span. First my 2 year old son, who is a Radiohead fan himself, decided that he had been healthy long enough. It was time to catch the flu, which was spreading all over St. Louis. Next my wife, who is also a Radiohead fan, caught the flu and spent 24 hours out of commission.  Ten days had gone by, and I though I had dodged a bullet.

No such luck…12 hours before Radiohead was going to take the stage, I found myself in the bathroom praying to Thom Yorke to end my pain.

A little background, I love Radiohead, and I’ve been lucky to see them twice (OK Computer tour and In Rainbows tour). When they announced their King of Limbs tour, I immediately bought tickets in November. November!  I was lucky enough to  score general admission on the floor. I was excited that I was going to be able to push my way to front and catch them up close. I couldn’t wait until March.

…but wait it gets even better…

Two weeks before the concert, I get a call from one of my best friends. He then proceeds to inform me that he was able to score his company’s luxury suite at the venue. He and his wife had two extra tickets and wanted to know if my wife and I wanted to join them.  An additional key piece of information is that my wife and I are expecting a baby girl in July, and she wasn’t looking forward standing for 2+ hours on the floor. So I did the only thing a great husband and good friend would do…I replied, “Hell Fucking Yes!”  Free food (for her), free booze (for me), Radiohead (for everyone). I flipped my floor tickets to some close friends and called the babysitter. I went from excited to ecstatic!

…aaaand now it gets worse…

Two weeks before the concert, my 2 year old son goes down for the count with the flu. I’ve never done so much laundry or disinfected so many toys…and the entire house…in such a short period of time. It didn’t really matter, my wife then quickly followed him for a 24 hour stint at influenza wonderland. So now I’m superdad and superhusband: 76 loads of laundry, disinfecting everything, making jello, cutting up bananas, finding crackers, refilling water and/or Gatorade…and washing my hands constantly.

I then said a small prayer, “Let me get sick soon or not at all. I don’t want to miss Radiohead”

God laughed.

A week after things settled down at our house, I woke up not feeling all that great. I thought I had a bad night sleep, so off to work I went. I lasted 2 hours, and back home I sped to my bathroom. I had caught the flu…and oh boy…I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemies. I don’t know if I spent more time in bed or the bathroom. I won’t go into details because it wasn’t pleasant.

It was horrific.

So there I lay in bed, thinking that in November I was the only one of my friends to buy tickets, and now 6 of my friends are going to the concert. Then I thought, “4 out of the 6 were going with tickets that I had occupied over the 4 months (2 floor tickets, 2 luxury suite tickets)…how screwed up is that?!”  Luckily, my friends on the floor were recording parts of the concert on their phones and sending them to me to cheer me up. It did, Radiohead sounded great…I have great friends.

The next day I felt better. Yay.

It’s funny, who would have thought that back in November I would catch the 24 hour flu 12 hours before Radiohead was going to take the stage. I probably had a better chance of being struck by lightening.

Let’s hope I’ve built up enough karma for their next tour…I better meet Thom Yorke to make up for the catastrophe that was the month of March of 2012.

-fw

About fuzzywuzzy

Music Addict

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Concert Reviews, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear that. I missed a Pink concert a couple of years ago for the same reason. Get well soon

Leave a Reply

